The Fishermen’s Bastion
On the top of the old fortress walls, the Fishermen’s Bastion was only constructed between 1895-1902. It is named after the fishermen’s guild because according to customs in the middle ages this guild was in charge of defending this part of the castle wall.
As a matter of fact it has never had a defending function. The architect was Frigyes Schulek, who planned the building in neo-gothic style.
The seven towers symbolise the seven chieftains, who conquerred the land for the Hungarians. The Fishermen’s bastion greatly contributes to the cityscape and offers a breathtaking panorama on the Pest side. In front of the Fishermen’s bastion, the equestrian statue depicts our first king, St Stephen. The Matthias Church and the Fishermens bastion are the most beloved sights of the Buda Castle District.
The Matthias Church
The building of the Matthias church (aka Church of Our Lady) was started in 1255 in Gothic style. The north tower still preserves some parts of the original church. Under the reign of King Matthias it was enlarged and renewed.
The king had both of his weddings here. His coat of arms with the black raven is still visible on the south tower. That’s why the commonly used name of the church is Matthias Church. During six centuries it used to be the coronation church.
The first king crowned here in 1308 was Charles Robert and the last one Charles IV. of Habsburg in 1916. During the Turkish occupation it was converted to a mosque, and after the reconquest of Buda it was reconstructed in baroque style but it still preserves some of its oriental atmosphere.
The final major rebuilding took place in 1895-1903 lead by Frigyes Schulek. At that time the church received its present neo-gothic style and was lavishly decorated with frescoes by famous contemporary painters. The church has a unique atmosphere, which worth visiting, not to mention the organ concerts which are organised regularly. The crypt and the treasure house also avait the visitors.